The first six keys of the keyboard are where QWERTY gets its name.
The "QWERTY" arrangement on a keyboard is the most common keyboard layout. Look at the first six letters on the second row of your keyboard, and you will see the reason for the name, QWERTY.
History
The man who invented the typewriter in 1875, Christopher Sholes, also came up with the QWERTY layout. The original layout for the typewriter keyboard was the alphabetical format, which did not work because the typewriter kept jamming up. The QWERTY format kept the typewriter from jamming as much because the most common letters were on opposite sides of the type bar, which kept the rods that held the keys from clashing and sticking.
Function
Many people believe that the QWERTY layout is to help people maximize their typing speed. But, that is not completely true. When the original keyboard was in alphabetical order, typists would jam the typewriter by typing too fast. The QWERTY arrangement slowed down typing speed, according to the Science Museum website. The old typewriters still jammed, but not as much.
Considerations
The biggest competitor to QWERTY is the Dvorak keyboard. August Dvorak designed a keyboard in 1932 that put vowels and the consonants people use most all on the middle row of the keyboard. Using Dvorak, typists can type about 400 common words without their fingers leaving the middle row, compared to 100 using QWERTY.
There's no need to wait 100 years just for paper to look old.
Making paper age faster than it would on its own may be easier than you might think. If creating an old-looking treasure map or other craft item that requires paper to appear aged before its time, you can make it look older using some commonly available household supplies. This technique will give a weathered and worn appearance to otherwise new, fresh, white paper. Try these steps on a scrap piece of paper before attempting them on a valuable piece.
Instructions
1. Preheat your electric oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Ensure the cookie sheet is clean and grease-free.
2. Ensure any writing you want on the paper is completed and dried before attempting any of the further steps.
3. Mix some tea with warm water to make strong, regular black tea. Place the sheet of paper you wish to age on the cookie sheet, then gently pour some tea onto it until it is completely saturated. Pour any excess tea off the sheet. Rub the wet paper with your fingers to create spots or holes in the paper wherever you like.
4. Sprinkle some coffee grounds onto the paper and let them sit for a few minutes before wiping them off. This will create uneven dark spots that are often found on older paper documents. Insert the cookie sheet and paper into the oven and remove after about 6 to 8 minutes.
5. Take the paper out of the oven and allow to cool. Crumple the paper if you wish it to look excessively worn, then place the paper in a plastic bag with some mothballs to get rid of the coffee and tea smell and to give it an authentic "old" smell.
An overhead projector is most often used in schools for classroom presentations, but can also be used for business projects. Transparencies are placed on a flat screen and illuminated by an overhead light located in a rotating arm. This equipment is rapidly being replaced by PowerPoint presentations and computer monitors, but it is still used in many schools, police departments and small businesses.
Instructions
1. Decide how you will use the overhead projector. Perhaps it will be for school or business projects or even home use. This will determine the model best suited for your needs. If you plan on using your projector often, for class projects or business presentations, purchase a unit with an easy-to-clean, closed head lens.
2. Verify what items you will use for presentation. Consider use of color or clear transparencies or if you'll write on the material as you present it. This will determine the brightness of the lamp you'll need and the cooling system requirements.
3. Determine your budget and where to buy. Overhead projectors can cost between $100 and $400 depending on the features, while lightweight, opaque projectors can cost up to $1000. Since most schools still use overhead projectors, the widest selection is at Schooloutfitters.com, with more bargains at Amazon.com.
4. Consider the options you'll need. Direct optic projectors have a light source that is projected in a straight line to the screen, and they use Halogen lamps of up to 600 watts. Chamber optic projectors provide a sharper resolution. Due to this, they cost a bit more than direct optic projectors.
5. Purchase a sturdier housing unit if you will use the projector in a classroom with children. Portable, lightweight units are better for business travel.
6. Check for warranty and repair information. This will save time and money if a problem should arise with your overhead projector. You may want to consider a leasing option if you will need the projector on an occasional basis.
So you're looking to create your own TV commercial. First, what is your goal with this commercial? Will it be for regular television or Internet TV? Who is it supposed to reach? How long will it be? What is your budget? All of the answers to these questions will be crucial as you go through the process of creating your TV advertisement.
Instructions
1. Develop a concept for your TV commercial. Will it be humorous or informative? Thrilling or muted? Will it sell the product or service through fear tactics (as is done with many "stop smoking" commercials) or will it present a feel-good message that will make your viewers want to run out and buy whatever it is you're selling as soon as possible? Regardless of how you plan to present your message, you have to communicate the utility of your product or service in your concept.
2. Write your script for the commercial. Be sure to keep the writing for your commercial in the interest of time (15, 20, 30, and 60 second commercials are common). See the "Resources" section below for more information on write a commercial script.
3. Hire a camera crew (including a camera operator, grip, and electrical team) or enlist students from an audio visual department of a school near you to shoot the commercial. Be sure that they use camera equipment to meet your shooting standards and ask for samples. The camera crew will also be able to guide you in the right direction as far as edit and produce your TV commercial to make it ready for television.
4. Hire actors and actresses to fit your script for the commercial. If you do not have the experience, hire a professional director to oversee the production and guide the actors. You can find all of these people on Craigslist or by placing an ad on Backstage.com. The director, actors, and the camera equipment used will be very important to the finished quality of your television spot.
5. Find a set for your TV commercial or get permits from your town to shoot outdoors. Choose a professional studio with plenty of space to house the crew and good lighting or a safe, large outside lot. Hire a crew that specializes in constructing sets (see the example under "Resources").
6. Schedule a date and shoot your commercial according to your script. You might want to schedule a short run-through beforehand with all of the actors and the director present (no cameras needed) to be sure that everyone is on the same page. If your commercial will be shot outdoors, be sure to pick a day that has clear weather. Choose a backup date or have a plan that you have already set with your cast and crew in case the weather does not permit the commercial to be completed as originally scheduled.
7. Work with the camera crew to edit the footage and prepare your TV commercial to be submitted to television stations to be broadcast or to be uploaded to Internet web sites.
Starting a new business is not a task to be taken lightly. Finding the right market, choosing a location, identifying the product or service that would best make the owner a fortune--these are all subjects that will require budding entrepreneur's full attention in the early days of a new start-up. But perhaps the most difficult part of starting a new business is finding the money to do it with. The money is out there; you just have to know where to look for it.
The Government
While it is a commonly held belief that the government gives out grants and loans that don't need to be repaid, this is simply not the case. In fact, the government itself does not give out any money at all to help small businesses. However, the Small Business Administration helps put entrepreneurs in touch with lenders who will. Because loans given out through the SBA are federally insured, lenders are often more willing to jump on board in an applicant has gone through this channel rather than straight to the source.
Angels
Angel investors are investors who have madetheir money and are now looking to give back to the community. While these investors are looking to make a profit with their investments (or possibly stake some sort of ownership in the company), they are usually more charity minded than venture capitalists. Venture capitalists do much the same, but they are usually not working with their own money. Instead, they are investing their clients' funds, and a good return is all they are concerned about.
Friends and Family
They say never to mix business with family, but some of the greatest companies in the country were started off the backs of friends and relatives. Obviously, your ability to borrow money from friends and family will depend on their financial well-being, but as long as it is healthy, this is often the easiest way to go about getting a start-up loan. The terms are usually much more favorable. On the other hand, a person usually doesn't worry too much about a strained relationship with his banker if he defaults on a loan.
Credit Cards
This is the poorest choice for a business loan, but it is one that many have made with positive results in the past. The reason this should be the order of last resort is because of how exorbitant credit card interest rates typically are when compared to APR rates on a small business loan. Still, if a small business start up cannot secure a loan through traditional means, credit cards may be the only option if they are to get their business off the ground.
Warning
Start-up businesses in search of capital are particularly juicy prey for scam artists. So-called loan brokers make all of their illegal money by targeting small business start-ups with offers that seem too good to be true. Many of these scam artists make their money by charging an upfront processing fee when the owner comes looking to them for money. This fee may be as high as a couple of thousand dollars, but the loan broker will assure the entrepreneur that the money is completely refundable once the loan goes through. Of course, after paying the fee, the loan broker is never heard from again. Small business owners should be very wary about the companies and individuals they go to for capital.
Often regarded as an island paradise, Jamaica is a Caribbean island located south of Cuba. Recognized globally for its beautiful beaches and exotic culture, Jamaica would no doubt make a marvelous backdrop for any business venture. Investors are drawn to the tax incentives that Jamaica offers to many businesses as well. A business may be established as a partnership in Jamaica with as few as two and as many as 20 partners. The form associated with this business structure is called the BN2 and is submitted when registering the company articles of association.
Instructions
1. Obtain approval for your chosen company name. The Registrar of Companies will notify you of the availability of the name and determine whether the name is acceptable. This process takes a day and costs JMD $500 (JMD $1equals USD $0.01).
2. Have incorporating documents stamped by the Stamp Commissioner. Before filing the articles of incorporation for your company---which will outline how your company will be governed and directed--you must have the articles stamped as a deed by the commissioner. This will cost JMD $500 and is done the same day.
3. Register your company articles with the Jamaican Registrar of Companies---also called Companies of Jamaica. Along with the articles of incorporation, you must submit the following forms with this filing: Notice of Appointment of Directors, form BN2---partnership application; Notice of Registered Office; and Notice of Appointment of Company Secretary. All partners must sign the articles of incorporation. Within three or four days, the registrar will issue a certificate of incorporation, if everything is in order. This process---including registration and document fees---costs about JMD $16,000.
4. Secure a National Insurance Scheme (NIS) reference number. The Ministry of Labor and Social Security will issue this number free of charge to your company within two days of your request.
5. Contact the Collector of Taxes for a tax registration number (TRN). The TRN is used for the collection of income tax. Income tax returns must be submitted by March 15.The TRN must be affixed to all communications to revenue departments.
6. Register for general consumption tax (GCT). The GCT is a form of value-added tax (VAT) in Jamaica. A company must gross more than JMD $144,000 before it becomes liable for this tax. Apply for GCT within 21 days of incorporation.
If you send your laptop to Vietnam, make sure to find a reliable shipping company.
Laptops are widely available in Vietnam, but to obtain a newer model or a better price people in Vietnam sometimes must have a machine shipped in from the United States or other country. Travelers to Vietnam also sometimes ship their laptops to avoid the inconvenience of carrying the machine on a plane. Shipping a laptop to Vietnam is easy and safe as long as you find a reliable, well-known shipping company and wrap up the laptop well.
Instructions
1. Keep the laptop wrapped in its original packaging because this packaging will protect it best. If feasible, wrap the machine in additional bubble wrap to protect it.
2. Find a cardboard box big enough to hold the laptop and its original packaging. Stuff any empty space with rags or bubble wrap. Use packing tape to seal the box and write your address and the recipient's address legibly on the front. Write "FRAGILE" on the box in big letters.
3. Choose your shipping service from among reputable companies. Large reliable shippers include DHL, UPS and FedEx. Make sure your machine has insurance and a warranty in case it arrives damaged. Ask your shipper how much the duties will be in Vietnam when the recipient comes to pick up the machine, as rates vary. Hand over your package to the shipper and notify the recipient in Vietnam that the laptop has been sent.
Trust is a central aspect to the management of employees. If your employees do not trust you, any healthy working relationship that existed will likely quickly deteriorate. This leads to poor job performance. Your employees may even quit to work for another business. It is very important to rebuild any trust lost between you and your employees if you wish to return to the working relationship you had prior to the loss of trust.
Instructions
1. Speak with your employees about the loss of trust. You must listen carefully to the concerns and feelings of your employees to gain insight on the situation. This allows for the negative feelings of your employees to rise to the surface.
2. Establish a safe environment for your employees to discuss the situation with you. This might include a specially set-aside time in a conference room to have a discussion. Allowing your employees to verbalize their feelings helps to establish a trusting relationship by demonstrating that you care about your relationship.
3. Recognize that your employees are hurt and have lost their trust in you. Provide emotional support to your employees by speaking to them about the situation. Give your employees context and any circumstances about the situation of which they may be unaware. By doing so, you can re-frame the experience of each employee so that he may see the negative event in a better light.
4. Apologize and take responsibility for any part you had in the loss of trust. Establish a plan to rebuild trust with your employees. Do not merely promise to rebuild trust, but follow through with your actions. Prevent future losses of trust and continue to be there for your employees.
5. Focus the energy of your employees on other tasks and towards the future instead of dwelling on the negative past. Create realistic expectations for your employees regarding your relationship with them. Explain to your employees that they must accept what has occurred and the only thing to do is to move forward.
Learn recover gold from your black sand with nitric acid.
Recreational prospectors typically end up with a lot of black sand in the bottom of their gold pans or in the sluice box. Gold dust often appears with the mineral sand and dirt that remains after the removal of the larger pieces and nuggets. Processing the black sand can recover more gold, yielding a bigger profit for the prospector. Physical methods are available but are labor intensive. Chemical methods of removal are easier but you must take care when using the hazardous chemicals the separation requires.
Instructions
1. Place a small pile of black sand into a pan. Make a small depression in the center of the sand and place a small amount of mercury in the center. Mercury aids in removing the gold from the black sand by forming an amalgam with the gold.
2. Work the mercury back and forth through the black sand until it has formed an amalgam and no gold colored flecks remain in the sample of black sand.
3. Transfer the mercury to a 250 ml beaker and add 40 to 50 ml of dilute nitric acid. The nitric acid will dissolve the mercury into solution but leave the gold.
4. Transfer the glob of amalgam to a porcelain parting cup and heat slowly on a hot plate until the bottom of the cup is red hot. Add fresh acid and allow the digestion to complete. If necessary, heat the sample on low heat. Do not boil the sample.
5. Pour off the remaining acid and wash the remaining gold with warm water three times.
6. Add a few drops of alcohol and dry on low heat.
7. Heat the bottom of the cup to a low red to anneal the gold. This will drive off any remaining mercury before you weigh the gold.
According to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the patent office began in 1802 and went through several name changes until it was given its current name in 2000. The Department of Commerce has controlled it since 1975.
Identification
A patent is a right granted by the USPTO to an inventor that excludes others from being able to produce, sell, use or import the patented item.
Types
There are three types of patents: utility patents cover machines, articles of manufacture and chemical compositions; design patents protect the designs of new equipment or ornamental features; and plant patents protect asexually reproduced plants that were invented or discovered.
Geography
The United States patent laws control only the competition from within the United States or from goods that are imported here.
Time Frame
Patents protect the inventor for the sale of the invention for up to 20 years. Extensions are sometimes granted.
Misconceptions
The USPTO will not help an inventor enforce his patent.
The term "payroll services" can refer to either companies that offer services dealing with calculating, distributing and handling taxes for a business payroll, or to those business services themselves. Payroll services and payroll services companies can be attractive options for small businesses that lack the expertise of computing and taxing payroll, and to large companies that hope to realize operational efficiencies by outsourcing. Here are a few of the business services offered as part of payroll services.
Payroll Processing
The first component of payroll services is actually creating paychecks for employees. Payroll services include calculating compensation for all employees, withholding deductions, and printing actual checks or deposit statements.
Tax Computation
Payroll services also encompass the calculation and deduction of the various payroll taxes, including federal income, state income, medicare, social security and other taxes.
Tax Filing
A payroll services partner will also file and pay those taxes for a business, as well as complete all monthly, quarterly and annual payroll tax reports due.
Check Distribution and Direct Deposit
Some payroll services also offer direct deposit for employees, depositing funds directly to employees' banks, and can mail checks to employees or the business itself.
Companies
ADP and Paychex are two of the largest payroll services in the United States, while software packages like Quickbooks and Peachtree offer payroll services as part of their applications.
Roof lines create dramatic effects and add to the overall style and feel of a home. When it comes time to put shingles on a valley roof, special care and attention is needed to keep the valley free from leaks. Remember, more water travels through the valley on a roof than any other part of the roof.
Instructions
1. Mark the valley with a chalk line. The lines should go 9 inches and 18 inches on either side of the valley. Lines are parallel with the valley.
2. Lay an 18-inch-wide piece of flashing down the middle of the valley, using the lines as a guide. Mark the end of the flashing according to the angle at the edge of the roof.
3. Cut the flashing to match the angle of the roof line.
4. Nail the flashing down to the roof by placing nails along the outer edge of the flashing.
5. Spread roofing cement along the outer edges of the flashing to seal the flashing and cover the nails.
6. Lay a 36-inch-wide piece of waterproof roofing material centered along the valley. Mark the end of the material along the roof edge as you did with the flashing material.
7. Cut the end of the roofing material to match the roof edge and then nail down the material in the valley. Nails go on the outer edges.
8. Lay a shingle (don't nail it) along one side of the valley so at least 1/3 of the shingle crosses to the other side of the valley.
9. Mark the top two corners of the shingle and measure the marks from the valley. Create a chalk line parallel to the valley with the measurements from the first shingle.
10. Place another set of chalk lines 3 inches from either side of the valley. Do not place any nails inside the 3-inch line toward the valley.
11. Nail the first shingle into place with the shingle pressed into the valley.
12. Install a second shingle on the opposite side of the roof to create an "x" with the first shingle at the roof edge.
13. Install shingles up the valley in a straight line with the first shingle using the chalk line as a guide. You won't criss-cross any more shingles.
14. Lay a fresh set of chalk lines on top of the shingles 3 inches on either side of the valley.
15. Add the shingles to the roof from the side away from the valley. When you reach the chalk line at the valley, cut the last shingle to fit in place. The shingles should not cross the chalk line at the valley.
Ask companies to remove your name from their mailing lists to stop junk mail.
Some companies sell consumer mailing lists to advertisers, so your address likely circulates among businesses many times over. That's why getting your name off mailing lists to stop junk mail and credit card offers may take significant effort. Magazine subscriptions, club memberships and phone book listings can trigger a company mailing of information you don't want. Therefore, you need to use several sources to stop junk mail and credit card offers.
Instructions
1. Prevent credit card and insurance companies from using information in your credit reports to send you prescreened offers to open new accounts. Use the Opt Out Services website managed by the credit-reporting companies Equifax, Experian and TransUnion to stop such offers. Submit your name and address through the site's online form to cut off the solicitations for five years. Stop the offers permanently by filling out and mailing the Permanent Opt-Out Election form to the address provided.
2. Add your name and address to the Direct Marketing Association's online list of marketers to have your contact information deleted from their mailing lists. Submit your information by filling out the mail service form on the DMA website. Expect to stop receiving junk mail from many big companies for five years after you submit the form. Bear in mind that you will continue to receive junk mail from some smaller companies and organizations that aren't on the DMA marketing lists.
3. Look for a customer service number on any junk mail and credit card offers you continue to receive after you place your name on the DMA list. Call that number to get your contact information taken off the mailing list. Ask the customer service representative you speak with to give you the name and phone number of the company that provided your name for his company's mailing list. If you get the information, call that company and get your information removed from that mailing list as well.
4. Contact all companies that you choose to receive mail from, and tell them not to supply your name and address to other companies. Look over any forms you fill out for magazine subscriptions, catalogs and other items and accept offers you find to opt out of having your name shared with other companies. Consider getting an unlisted phone number to keep your address out of phone books and away from advertisers who use phone books to compile customer lists. Ensure that any private organizations where you maintain memberships don't circulate your contact information.
A dating service can be an excellent business to start because so many people are looking for Mr. or Ms. Right. If you have what it takes, you can help people find their soul mate, or at least a few good dating prospects. With many services currently available to people, it is important to do some homework and determine your niche in this market. Your reputation to make solid relationship matches will determine the success of your business.
Instructions
1. Research your target locale. Determine which demographics will most benefit from your services. Will you cater to busy professionals? Divorced people? Strictly Christians? Those new to the area?
2. Plan how you will best serve your clients. Will you plan regular outings where they can meet in a large group setting? Are small group lunch dates more preferable for your clients? Do they want one-on-one dates?
3. Host a few singles parties to gain experience at matchmaking. Ask people to invite single friends. You can have an informal mixer at your house. Or rent out a space like a cooking school and charge everyone a small fee. Having a social activity will help relax everyone, hopefully lessening any awkwardness. Ask participants to fill out a sheet about with whom they would like to go on a date with. Then set up those whom have a mutual interest in each other. Follow-up with participants to see what they liked about the event, what could be done differently, and how their date(s) went.
4. Contact your local Secretary of State to register a business name and determine what, if any, business licenses you need to obtain.
5. Ask for referrals from friends and family members. Word of mouth is a great way to promote your business. Friends and family want to see you succeed.
6. Advertise your business. Hand out fliers at local events such as concerts, art fairs, or churches. Rent a table at women's expos, golf shows, or sporting events. Find where the singles are and market to them.
7. Launch your business and start matchmaking. Be sure to keep track of what went right and wrong in each match you make. This will help you know where you are succeeding and where you could use improvement in your matchmaking skills.
8. Re-evaluate your business. With a dating service business that has so much competition, it's important to periodically re-evaluate your business to ensure you are doing all you can to stay at the top. Is it time to expand? Should you take your business to the Internet? Would partnering with local businesses, such as event planning services, help expand your clientele?
Using a website visitor counter is one of the easiest ways of monitoring traffic. View detailed information about a website visitor without making them fill out a form. From the time they land on your website, you'll have the opportunity to view each page they've visited and how long they've stayed. All of this information can help you figure out if you need to change your website or keep it just the way it is.
Function
Website visitor counters are used to keep track of anyone that has browsed through your entire Internet site. Since one of the main goals of creating a web site is to make sure that others see it, you'll need a way to remain updated on its popularity. Most website visitor counters can be easily placed in different locations on your website to inform you of the total number of visitors.
Types
There are numerous types of website visitor counters to choose from. They are usually configurable enough to allow you to match the colors and styles of the website you're using it on. Some website visitor counters have a transparent background and will only display the number of visitors on your website. Others will display the visitor count, current date and even a background image if you choose. Depending on your personal preferences, you can incorporate a website visitor counter that displays symbols instead of numbers when tracking visits.
Features
Some of the most common features of a website visitor counter include invisible tracking, updated visitor analysis and incoming visitor location. With the invisible tracking feature, you're able to conveniently hide the website visitor counter from others. Instead of having to show the actual visitor count on your website, you can have your own personal access. Always knowing how much visitor traffic is directed to your website can also be done by using the built-in visitor analysis feature. Log into your account to view the latest visitor logs of your website. Another useful feature that comes in handy when running a website is the incoming visitor location. With this feature, you're able to track how a visitor was directed to your website. In some cases, you're also able to identify the visitor's web browser and general location.
Considerations
Although there are plenty of website visitor counters available for you to use, not all of them are the same. Before making a final decision about a website counter, think about the features that are valuable to you. If you are constantly making changes to your website, choose a website visitor counter that's user-friendly and easy to work with.
Warning
During the initial setup of the counter on your website, avoid inflating the number of previous visitors. Some website visitor counters allow you to not only customize the look of them, but also the beginning number you'd like the counter to display. If you have a very new web site, there's a great chance that no one will believe you've already gained a million visitors in such a short time.
Advertising helps build an audience for your product or service, and allows you to communicate to that audience in a cost-effective way. Evaluating the cost of your advertising campaign, both before the purchase and after, can help you understand what you are getting for your money. Then you can show the owner of the company, your boss or your shareholders that the cost was worth the outcome. The cost per thousand (CPM) formula is one of the core formulas that will help you evaluate the true cost of your advertising.
Instructions
The CPM Formula: Pre-Purchase Evaluation
1. Line up the advertising proposals that you have received and get out your highlighter.
2. Highlight the total cost of the advertising and the number of impressions or distribution of the advertising medium.
3. Write down the cost per thousand formula (also known as CPM). CPM= Cost of Advertising/(Impressions Generated/1,000). This formula will help you evaluate how much the advertising medium costs, based on how many people the advertising will reach.
4. Use the CPM formula by putting the numbers that you highlighted into your calculator as follows: Divide the number of impressions or distribution of the advertising medium by the number 1,000. Take this number and divide the cost of your advertising by it.
5. Complete your formula according to this example: Suppose you are buying a page in a magazine where your advertising cost is $20,000 and the magazine delivers 2,000,000 in circulation. Divide 2,000,000 by 1,000. You get 2,000. Then divide your cost of advertising, $20,000, by 2,000. You get $10. The magazine charges $10 per 1,000 people to whom they distribute your ad.
6. Review your final result. This number is the amount of money that the advertising costs per 1,000 people that receive the medium you are advertising in.
7. Calculate this formula for every proposal that you received. At its most basic level of analysis, the proposal with the lowest CPM is your best advertising deal.
One of the main draws in a sports bar is setting up televisions for customers to watch the big game. People are more apt to come out, have a drink and party with their friends if they know there's a giant flat screen TV with all the action on it. Indeed, when establishing a sports bar, televisions are likely the most important decorative item you need. Setting them up isn't all that different from setting them up in a home. You simply need to have a good idea of your bar's requirements.
Instructions
1. Examine the space in your bar: each of the tables, chairs, booths and standing spots. You want TVs to be accessible to as many different spots as possible within your budget.
2. Determine exactly how many TVs you can afford on your stated budget, factoring in the number of TVs that you can comfortably fit into your space. The good news is that LCD TVs are getting cheaper by the day, making it fairly easy to pick up a large number of them. Don't forget to allot money for sturdy mounting brackets, satellite or cable installation and monthly satellite or cable bills.
3. Identify the central location in your sports bar--usually the bar itself--and set that aside for the main TV. It should be as large as will fit--40 inches or larger if possible. In some cases, you may wish to have auxiliary TVs placed alongside it, particularly if you intend on showing multiple sporting events at once.
4. Establish spots in your bar for smaller TVs where customers tucked away in booths can still watch the game. Corners are usually good locations, and you should always place your TVs high up on the wall where they can be seen over standing customers.
5. Note locations in the bar walls or roof where you can run cables up to the satellite dish. Make sure they can be easily inserted, that they look discreet, and that you don't need to run them across the floor or anywhere where your customers might trip over them.
6. Call a satellite or cable company to set up a programming package. Ask about sports packages such as NFL Sunday Ticket and MLB Extra Innings: the more programming options you have, the better. DirecTV has a package specifically for bar owners, and other satellite companies may offer similar deals.
7. Mount each TV in your selected locale using a high-end mounting frame. If possible, secure them to the studs in the wall rather than drywall or similar material; it makes them sturdy.
8. Call the satellite or cable company and have them install your programming package. Check each TV to see that it's working before the satellite installer leaves.
9. Monitor the sporting schedule in your local area (as well as national sporting events) and set your TVs to cover as many of them as possible.
Laminate flooring is popular in Europe and the United States. It is a type of flooring that can imitate wood, stone, tile and other materials. The surface of the flooring is a photographic image of the material it is imitating. The flooring is actually made of durable laminate plastic. Laminate flooring is considerably cheaper than buying real hardwood, tile or stone flooring. Measuring and buying the flooring is the first step in installing your new floors.
Instructions
1. Measure the length and width of the room.
2. Multiply these two numbers together to get the square footage. Add 10 percent to this number to count for waste. Repeat Steps 1 and 2 for each room.
3. Add together all of the square footage plus 10 percent for each room.
4. Divide the total square feet by the number of square feet in each box of flooring. Depending on where you purchase your flooring from, this number will differ.
5. Use just the square footage number, not including the 10 percent, to determine how much padding you will need.
6. Measure the width of doorways or any places where you will need transition pieces. Depending on where you purchase your flooring from, you will know how many pieces to order. Keep in mind these pieces can be cut to fit.
7. Measure the perimeter of each room to know how many skirting boards or beading you will need to go around the outside of each room to fill the gap between the flooring and the walls. Add 10 percent t this number to count for waste.
8. Determine where you would like to purchase flooring. Research prices online and in home improvement stores. Discount flooring stores are also an option. Once you have decided on a location, ask if they offer bulk discounts. Buying more than you need is highly recommended.
Virtual reality is the concept of using technology to allow users to interact with a computer-generated environment for entertainment, education, training and design. Ideally, a computer simulates an environment that is complete with physics, simulated objects, sights and sounds, and then outputs that environment into the senses of the user. Modern technology has yet to live up to this ideal, and currently most virtual reality technology is limited to sight, sound and touch. Virtual reality has been popularized through several movies, books and video games, which have sometimes distorted the nature of the technology.
History
Though the term has its roots in fiction and theater, virtual reality as a technology began in the 1950s with the Sensorama, developed by Morton Heilig and conceived as a theater that would address all senses. In 1968, Ivan Sutherland developed the first head-mounted display (HMD), which, with the aid of early wire-frame graphics, allowed users to perceive themselves as being inside a virtual environment. Films like "Tron," television series like "Star Trek: The Next Generation" and books like William Gibson's "Neuromancer" served to popularize the notion, and early versions of the technology have been used in amusement parks, for historical recreations and in video games. While the technology has progressed a great deal, modern virtual reality devices are generally limited to head-mounted displays combined with headphones and gloves that allow for sensation and manipulation of virtual objects through force-feedback and motion-sensor technologies.
Benefits
Virtual reality has many potential uses because it appeals to our intuitive use of information. In education it can allow for the creation of full environments that would present the experience of hands-on study without needing to leave the classroom. In medicine it can allow students and researchers to treat virtual patients as training and, in combination with advanced robotics, perform surgery at a distance. Engineers can create, modify and test designs in a virtual space, and soldiers can train in virtual war zones. Psychologists and therapists may also utilize virtual reality for treatment purposes, especially in the treatment of trauma disorders.
Theories/Speculation
Theories on the future and nature of virtual reality include the notion of the integration of the Internet and virtual reality for purposes of communication and data management and the idea of the creation of perfect virtual worlds. Advances in technology are expected to bring about more realistic simulations and possibly a way of feeding sensory data directly into the brain. A competing idea called "ubiquitous computing" reverses the classical notion of virtual reality, bringing the functions of computers into everyday reality, and some theorists speculate that the final result will be some integration of the two. In a variation on the "brain in a vat problem," philosophers have put forward the interesting argument that, should complete simulated realities be possible, then it is possible that they have already been designed and that we are currently in one.
Misconceptions
Because of the popular use of virtual reality in movies, novels and games, there are often misunderstandings about how virtual reality functions and what it entails. For example, there is no reason why being injured in virtual reality should result in injury to the physical body, why electrical hazards would somehow cause you to magically be stuck in a virtual world or exchange places with a virtual entity, or why a virtual entity could somehow manifest itself in physical reality.
Concerns
The primary concern associated with virtual reality is the worry that, given the ability to make simulated realities, humans will choose to live in those realities and ignore this one. Another worry is that virtual reality technology could be used to manipulate and control people by convincing them of false realities or conditioning them by using simulated experiences.
Natural disasters, injuries to customers or employees, mistakes and automobile accidents all can cause monetary losses to your business. Fortunately, business insurance is available to help mitigate the effects of these unforeseen events.
Function
The function of business insurance is to cover damages due to an event that cannot be predicted. In exchange for this protection, your business pays a monthly, quarterly or annual premium.
Types
There are many types of business insurance, including workers compensation, property, liability, business vehicle, loss of income and errors or omissions.
Features
Some policies require a deductible be paid before a claim is honored. Other policies pay a portion of a loss with your business being liable for the remainder.
Requirements
Some types of business insurance are required by law, such as workers compensation and business automobile insurance. If you use business real estate as collateral for a business loan, your lender may also require you to purchase property insurance.
Considerations
In order to determine how much insurance your business needs, it is necessary to make a list of your business' assets. Once you have this list, contact an agent for help selecting the right policies.
The spleen is an organ that lies just underneath the ribcage on the left side of the body. Its purpose is to help protect the body from infection by filtering the blood and literally "eating up" harmful germs and particles. A damaged spleen, or splenic rupture, is an extremely serious condition that requires immediate medical attention. If not properly attended to, a ruptured spleen can cause excessive internal bleeding that can lead serious symptoms or death.
Causes
The location of the spleen makes it a prime target for injury. Car accidents are one of the main causes of splenic rupture, either due to direct impact or a broken rib on the lefthand side of the body. Other causes of spleen injury include fist fights and contact sports such as hockey and football. Also, when the body is fighting an illness, the spleen enlarges as it helps fight the infection. When the spleen is enlarged, it is more prone to injury. Splenomegaly is a disease that occurs when the spleen is abnormally enlarged and begins filtering out good blood cells as well as bad blood cells. If you experience symptoms of spleen damage due to any of these possible causes, a doctor should be contacted immediately.
Abdominal Pain
Localized pain, or pain that is focused on one region of the body, is more serious than all-over pain. This is because localized pain usually means that a specific organ has been traumatized, which can be very serious or even deadly. The most prominent symptom of spleen damage is upper left abdominal pain under the ribcage or upper stomach pain. The area around the upper left abdomen can also feel tender, and the area surrounding the spleen will often be bruised.
Back Pain
Localized back pain is also a sign that something may be wrong with the spleen. Pain or swelling on the lefthand side of your lower back can be due to possible splenic rupture. This area can also be bruised and tender to the touch. In some cases, shoulder pain can also occur on the left side due to spleen damage. Back pain is common in many people, but if a person is experiencing the pain in these specific areas and he received an injury on the left side of the body, splenic rupture may be present.
Chest Pain
Chest and shoulder pain on the left side of the body is often associated with heart attack; however, chest pain due to splenic rupture can also occur in these areas. Oftentimes, bruising will occur over the area of the spleen, and the area will hurt when touched. In some cases, patients with splenic rupture have experienced breathing difficulty due to stress on the lungs from an injury to the ribcage.
Low Blood Pressure
The spleen helps produce both red and white blood cells. When the spleen is ruptured, large quantities of blood can spill into the abdominal cavity. Not only does this internal bleeding cause the symptoms mentioned above, but it can also cause symptoms of high blood pressure. These symptoms include but are not limited to dizziness, fainting, fatigue or confusion. Oftentimes, vision can become blurred, and nausea and vomiting can occur.
Training businesses provide a much needed service to the corporate world at large. They are designed to help any industry's personnel better their management and leadership skills, while boosting morale and personal confidence. A training business can provide guidance, training and overall coaching on or off-site, depending on certain organizations and their time and financial budgets or constraints.
Instructions
1. Select your market. The first step in starting a training business is to know your market and field of interest, as well as your personal skills and experience in this area. If you've worked in management for years and have supervisory and leadership skills, training should come easily for you. You should concentrate on the field or industry you are familiar with, and springboard from there to other markets. Determine what specific type of training you want to specialize in; e.g., leadership, motivation, sales, self-esteem or communications. Once you know exactly what sort of training you want to do, you need to prepare the materials.
2. Create your materials. Translating your skills and knowledge into a training business will require creating materials and booklets, Powerpoint presentations, CDs and/or webinars for additional training online. Start with writing down and creating a seminar from scratch. Design a prospective, write a rough draft speech or bullet points you want to cover. If you need additional help, surf the Internet for training businesses similar to yours and get a feel for what others are offering.
3. Join organizations. Join training organizations such as the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD). This will help you network with other trainers as well as possibly land training and business opportunities with big organizations. It will also add credibility to your name and your business, if and when a company wants to check on your qualifications and professional memberships.
4. Hire help. Next, determine if you need to hire additional trainers to cover more territory. The advantage of hiring a staff of trainers is to grow the business quicker. It also allows you to have a variety of seminars and training available to businesses and various organizations. Most training companies hire trainers as independent contractors. You can do the same. This will allow them the freedom they need, and you can still make a commission from every training seminar they give.
5. Determine your training location. Choose your hotel or meeting space based on the approximate number of people that will attend. Determine whether or not you will provide training onsite. Make a careful list of everything you will need from tables and chairs, to computers, video players, overhead equipment and personnel.
6. Create promotional materials. Your first step was to know your market. Now you must reach it with seminar flyers, brochures, newsletters, postcards and/or your website. If you've ever seen the promotional flyers sent out by places such as SkillPath, Fred Pryor's or National Seminars, you know that they provide ample information to highlight their one-day, two-day and other types of seminars. Their materials are packed with bullet points, strong course descriptions, fun photos and graphics and eye-catching headlines. Your goal is to create the same type of materials, but make them even better. Don't make them as text heavy, but instead provide compelling benefit statements to persuade them to attend. Charge slightly less and give them more. As the "new guy on the block," you have to do all you can to compete with the big guns.
7. Evaluate and improve. Finally, once you have your first training session completed and all the attendants made it through the training, make sure you provide evaluation forms to all your participants. Your goal is to find out anything that can be improved upon or altered to make your seminars and your presentations better. Don't be too sensitive. Realize that evaluations are what you need to optimize your training business. Take suggestions seriously and implement them in future programs.
Florida requires fictitious business names be registered with the Secretary of State.
A sole proprietorship is the most simple type of business entity. To set up a sole proprietorship in Florida, you may not need to do anything at all. It's not necessary to register with the state as a corporation or to file a separate state tax return. However, if you are doing business under a name other than your own, you must register the fictitious name with the Division of Corporations of the Secretary of State's office. If you will conduct transactions that involve sales and use tax, you must register with the Department of Revenue.
Instructions
1. Search the fictitious name database. Before you start doing business under a fictitious name, run a search through the online database to see whether someone else is already using that name in Florida. The database is linked in the Resources section below.
2. Advertise the name. Chapter 50 of the Florida Statutes requires that a fictitious name be advertised at least once in a newspaper in the county where the principal place of business will be located before registration. Contact a local newspaper for details on the cost.
3. Submit the fictitious name registration. If your business name is available and you have advertised your intent, you can submit your registration application online or by mail (see Resources section below). There is a $50 registration fee.
4. Register to collect sales tax (if necessary). If your business will collect revenue for sales, admission charges, storage or rental, you must register with the state Department of Revenue to collect sales tax. See the Resources section below for forms and registration.
5. Obtain local permits or other licenses as necessary. You will have to obtain county occupational licenses for certain types of business practices such as auto repair, child care, taxi, home sales solicitation, moving or towing. You will also need county licenses if your business involves certain types of land use or environmental impact.
CPM can help determine if your ad money is being spent wisely.
CPM is a marketing term short for "cost per thousand." It is a way of measuring the rate of return for advertising money you spend on the Internet. It will help you find out how much you are paying for every 1,000 people that see the ad online. Calculating the CPM of a particular ad involves taking the total cost of the ad and dividing it by the total number of "impressions" that advertisement can receive.
Instructions
1. Find the total dollar amount the advertisement will cost you. This dollar amount should be decided upon ahead of time with either the administrator of the site that is running your ad or with the service you are placing the ad through (whichever applicable).
2. Determine the total number of impressions (also called "hits" or "page views") that the page that contains your advertisement can receive. This information can be obtained from the administrator of the site that the ad is running on. You can also find this information through the company you used to place the advertisement (if applicable). Typically this will be one set number that doesn't change month-to-month. This is called a "cap."
3. Divide the total amount of money you spent on the ad by the total number of hits the ad will receive to find the CPM of that particular ad. For example, if it cost you $500 to place the ad and it can be viewed by 100,000 people, $500 divided by 100,000 equals a CPM of 0.005, or $0.50 for every 1,000 views.
Getting ready for a yard sale is a lot of work, so you want to make sure you draw plenty of people to your sale to score big profits. The more, the merrier: Not just the number of people who shop, but the number of people setting up tables with items for sale. Whether you go it alone or make the sale a community effort, however, success depends not only on an ample selection of goods for sale but also on getting the word out.
Instructions
1. Use large, florescent poster board and fat felt markers for those signs that you will place along sidewalks and streets. Tape or staple them to poles (be sure to remove all materials when the sale is over) or attach them to wooden stakes.
2. Put an ad in the paper. In some locations you may do this for free. Many community newspapers offer free ads in the classified section for garage sales, yard sales, etc. Some even provide signs as a public service.
3. Post fliers at neighborhood gas stations and convenient stores.
4. Place signs on all heavily trafficked streets and at all intersections.
5. Ask managers in stores where you shop to allow you to post fliers about your sale on their bulletin boards - those to which the public has access as well as those for employees.
6. Advertise by word of mouth. Let your neighbors know you're having a sale and see if they want to join forces with you. A street with four or five sales in a row will attract more potential customers.
7. Utilize free advertising. Many people like to use Craigslist to sell larger items. Do this, but instead of having a contact number, tell them to scope out the merchandise in person at your upcoming garage sale.
A strategic intent statement motivates and challenges employees to meet short- and long-term goals for a business. This statement should also inspire employees to work as a team and to explore new processes and technologies that benefit these goals. When creating a strategic intent statement, focus on the overall vision of the business and where the business will be in 10 or 20 years. Emphasizing long-term goals while outlining short-term goals helps employees understand their roles more clearly.
Instructions
1. Create an outline of key topics before writing a strategic intent statement. Topics should include your business vision, short- and long-term goals to help achieve this vision, employee strengths and ways to improve these strengths, and an emphasis on exploring new ideas and technologies to reach long-term goals.
2. Write a paragraph or more for each topic in your outline. Start with the overall vision of your business and the direction of the business in the future. Strategic intent statements emphasize teamwork, goal setting, competition and success over a long period of time.
3. Specify short- and long-term goals. These are the goals that help move your business forward. Short-term goals should help achieve long-term goals. Be specific about these goals so all employees fully understand in which direction the business is moving and how their work influences these goals.
4. Motivate employees by emphasizing skills already found in the workplace and suggest ways to improve these skills or ways to learn new skills. Reference new training programs or resources available to employees to help them accomplish the company's short- and long-term goals.
5. Emphasize the importance of expanding technology and exploring new ideas so your business continues to grow. Explain the need for innovative thinking, teamwork and research. Site examples of how this type of thinking has helped your business so far and why it is so important for the future.
Carbon credits are intended to help countries reduce pollution.
Carbon credits, or carbon calculations, were first implemented after the Kyoto Protocol on climate change took effect in 2005. They are a way of quantifying carbon emissions so that countries can calculate how much pollution they generate. One carbon credit equals 1 ton of emitted carbon dioxide or other greenhouse gases. Caps on emissions are set through negotiations between nations. Those that exceed their carbon credits can buy credits from countries that stay below their emissions cap. The money generated by trading carbon credits helps develop renewable energy programs.
Kyoto Protocol
More than 170 nations have ratified the Kyoto Protocol, although the list did not include the U.S. as of 2010. The protocol sets limits on pollution for each of the signatories. The carbon credit was introduced as a mechanism for countries to internally manage their own resources by allocating a specific number of carbon credits to the countries' industries. The goal is to encourage companies to reduce the amount of greenhouse gases they generate. Companies that exceed the caps are fined.
Policy Implementation
The amount of carbon dioxide emitted by each industry is tracked by government agencies that specialize in environmental issues. In some cases, a government will create a subagency whose sole purpose is tracking emissions data from various companies. The companies are audited on a regular basis for accurate reporting and compliance with pollution standards.
Carbon Trading
Some companies are able to reduce their emissions to the point that they accumulate surplus credits. Others exceed their allotted credits for various reasons, such as increased carbon emissions because of faulty equipment. Companies with excess carbon credits can sell them to firms that have exceeded their allotment. The price of carbon credits is set through international exchanges such as the Chicago Climate Exchange. Rules for trading are governed by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.
The Ultimate Goal
Emissions reduction is the ultimate goal of carbon trading. The Kyoto Protocol aims at an overall 5.2 percent reduction in greenhouse gas emissions from 1992 levels by 2012. The target amount for each country varies depending on the amount of pollution it generates.
A partnership is a flexible form of business. It is a formal business structure --- like a corporation --- but is free from nuances such as record-keeping requirements or the need for a board of directors. Limited partnerships have general partners and limited partners. The general partners are personally liable for the debts and obligations of the business. Limited partners are liable only to the extent of their investment in the business. A limited partnership may attract outside investors to the company because the investors only risk the money they put into the endeavor and are not personally liable for the business debts or obligations.
Instructions
1. Obtain a certificate of limited partnership form from your state's business corporation's division. Local secretary of state offices often have these forms available. Many state websites provide links to download these forms.
2. Choose a name for your limited partnership. State laws typically require the name to contain a suffix such as "Limited Partnership" or "L.P." You may need to conduct a name availability search to ensure that your business name is original. Check your state's business corporations division website for more information.
3. Fill out the certificate of partnership form. While forms differ from state to state, you typically must provide the name of the limited partnership in the first section, list the business address in the following section and provide the names and addresses of each general partner. The limited partners do not need to sign the form or list their names on the form.
4. File this form with your state's business corporation's division. Pay the required filing fee. Fees vary by state. In California, the cost was $70 in December 2010; in Maryland, the fee was $200 in December 2010.
Consider getting a business telephone line for your business.
Many businesses have business telephone lines, and setting up one is an important step in starting a new business. Having a telephone line that is linked to the business is essential if you plan on having your business listed in the telephone book or other directories. Further, having a separate business line is valuable if you do not wish to have business-related phone calls made to your mobile phone.
Instructions
1. Contact telephone companies that offer business accounts. A variety of companies offer business-class telephone lines, such as: Comcast, Verizon, Time Warner Cable, and AT&T. Contact these companies to see if they service the area in which your business is located and their pricing and business plan options (see References).
2. Contact the customer service department of the company that you chose. Once you have picked a company, call the customer service department to discuss a service package and plan. Many plans last from one to three years and require a business contract.
3. Sign your business telephone service contract. The telephone company will send you a contract through the U.S. Postal Service or email. Sign the contract and return it.
4. Schedule a time and date for setup. Once you have signed the contract, you will have to have someone from the telephone company come and hook up your new business telephone line.
Stock market and bond index funds are part of a strategy for building wealth, but you might not know which ones you should choose. Index funds follow particular markets, such as small or large cap stocks, the S&P 500, the Russell 2000, bonds and international markets.
Instructions
1. Decide what type(s) of investments you want your index funds to track; that might be bonds, stocks, a domestic index fund or an international index fund. This is not an easy decision to make, since no one knows precisely the prospects for each asset class. Sometimes advisors suggest investing in a few index funds that cover several of these asset types, so that you have strong diversification in your investment portfolio.
2. Next, begin your search for index funds that match your investment goals. Two of the largest providers are Fidelity and Vanguard, but there are many other players as well. Usually, you can guess what an index fund invests in by its name, but look in the index fund's prospectus and read its objective to find out for sure. You should be able to find out the name of the index that the index fund tries to track, and then you can do further research to find out whether tracking that index is what you want. You can get prospectuses from the fund companies.
3. No matter which index or indices your like for your funds, find out the fees or fund expenses you will be charged. You will not get the best returns if too much is eaten away by excessive fees. Index funds are cheap to operate, so you should look for total fund expense ratios to be less than 0.5 percent. Some are even as low as 0.1 percent.
4. Along with fees, consider the trading costs that might be involved in buying or selling index funds. Some index funds require you to pay a trading fee while others do not. If possible, find index funds that you like that have low trading costs and management fees.
5. Finally, look into how closely the index fund actually tracks its target index. Since index funds employ different strategies, some index funds are better at tracking their index than others. There is a statistical metric, known as "R-squared," which measures how closely the index fund mirrors its target index. This may be found on financial websites or in the fund's prospectus. The closer the R-squared is to 100, the better the index fund is at doing its job. Usually, this is not an issue, but it is important to check, so that you know your index funds will perform as expected.
Arizona's Business Corporation Act sets incorporation procedures.
The Arizona Nonprofit Corporation Act is a popular term for those sections of the Arizona Business Corporation Act that pertain only to certain types of nonprofit organizations. According to the Arizona State Legislature's Revised Statutes, specific nonprofits are covered in Chapter 19, articles 1 through 4 of the Arizona Business Corporation Act.
Background
The American Bar Association drafted a Model Business Corporations Act in the 1950s to standardize the process of forming corporations throughout the United States. According to Paul Marcotte, writing in the "American Bar Association Journal," all or parts of the Model Business Corporations Act had been adopted by the legislatures of 35 states in 1988. Arizona is one of those states.
Nonprofit Sections
Most of the Arizona Business Corporation Act lists general rules, regulations and procedures that any entity, either for-profit or nonprofit, must follow to incorporate in the state of Arizona. Chapter 19, articles 1--4 further clarify regulations for nonprofit Cooperative Marketing Associations, Electric Membership Co-ops, Fraternal Societies, and Electric Generation and Transmission Cooperatives.
Considerations
The Arizona Business Corporation Act lists two basic steps to incorporating a nonprofit. The first is to file articles of incorporation with the Arizona Corporation Commission and the second is to publish the articles in a newspaper for three consecutive days. Forms and further information are available from the Arizona Corporation Commission.
ASTM has a collection of over 800 documents on paint specifications.
The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) specifies standards for the physical and chemical properties of paints and coatings applied to bulk materials. These standards improve the safety and durability of surface properties. Manufacturers and end-users use ASTM standards on a voluntary basis to guarantee the quality of their products. ASTM's paint standards consist of more than 800 detailed documents that can be accessed by either purchase or subscription from its website.
Testing
Many ASTM specs do not regulate the actual contents of paints but test their quality. For instance, ASTM D 1014 explains conduct exterior exposure tests of paints and coatings on metal substrates. ASTM D 1135 defines standard test methods for chemical analysis of blue pigments. And ASTM D 126 concerns standard test methods for analysis of yellow, orange and green pigments that contain lead chromate or chromium oxide green. While some of the specifications require technical knowledge, standards such as D 6578 merely define methods for testing the graffiti resistance of a paint.
Measurement Practices
Some ASTM specifications also determine practices for determining measurements of paint substances. For example, ASTM has developed a standard practice for reporting particle size characteristics in pigments (ASTM D 1366). ASTM D 2244 calculates color tolerances and differences of instrumentally measured color types in paint.
Compound Specifications
ASTM also defines standards for compounds used in paint such as isopropyl acetate (D 3131), 2-methodxyethanol (D 3128), acetone (D 16 & D 1614) and basic lead silicochromate pigment (D 1648).
Guides
ASTM also provides guides for identify paint properties. For instance, ASTM D 6165 explains compare, detect, and identify odors of paints. Another guide, D 6237, is designed specifically for painting inspectors who review concrete and masonry substrates (e.g. a construction girder in a skyscraper).
Terminology
Besides just determining the specifications of paint, ASTM defines the actual language to be used when measuring and evaluating compliance. For instance, ASTM D 6440 explains the standard terminology that relates to hydrocarbon resins. Similarly, ASTM D 6488 standardizes the lexicon for print problems. And, more generally, D 7188 defines the terminology for printing inks, materials, and processes.
With individuals and companies stuck in various stages of debt, debt settlement companies specialize in contacting those businesses and individuals to settle their outstanding debt. In order for debt settlement companies to know who to contact they need to have some debt settlement leads. To get those leads, debt settlement companies often purchase them. If you have some debt settlement leads that you would like to sell, you can do so through a debt exchange marketplace.
Instructions
1. Create an online account with a debt exchange marketplace company such as LeadPoint and Debt Connection. To create an account you will need to select that you are a debt seller, give your company name and contact information and the type of debt that you sell. Once you submit your information the account is reviewed and approved typically within two business days. You cannot list your debt for sale until the account is approved.
2. Fill out your information for the leads that you want to sell. Select the type of debt settlement leads--such as automobile, mortgage, education, payday loans and credit card debt. Any additional details, such as if the debt is within the statute of limitations, should be included as well as it can help to sell your leads quicker. Also include if the debtor has ever been contacted for each lead that you have.
3. Wait for bids or offers on your debt settlement leads once you submit the details. Some debt exchange marketplaces allow you to bulk sell your leads to a debt settlement company while others sell the leads individually and pay you at regular intervals.
The University of the Incarnate Word, located in San Antonio, Texas, has nursing programs at both the undergraduate and the graduate level. Its basic nursing program leads to a BS-N, or Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree. In addition to fulfilling ordinary application requirements, such as submitting transcripts and completing designated admission tests, students applying to this program must have fulfilled certain prerequisite course requirements as well as general education coursework requirements.
Prerequisites for the Bachelor of Science - Nursing Degree Program
Candidates for admission to the BS-N program must have completed or be in the process of completing all the prerequisite courses, which are as follows: Computer Literacy, English Composition I and II, Speech, Biological Chemistry I and II/Lab, Anatomy/Physiology I/Lab and II/Lab, Microbiology/Lab, Nutrition, Statistics, Psychology-Introduction, Psychology-Child and Adult Development, Dimensions of Wellness.
Other required courses
Before enrolling in the Nursing Program, students must also have completed the General Education Core Requirements, which are the following additional courses: World Literature, Fine Art, Religious Studies, Introduction to Philosophy, Ethics, Physical Education, Second Language (two semesters of the same language), History. The General Education Core Requirement also includes 45 hours of community service.
GPA
The grade point average in all coursework, including prerequisites and general education core requirements, is used to determine the eligibility of the applicant to the program. A minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 is required for admission, as well as a minimum GPA of 2.5 in science courses, which include courses in nutrition. A higher GPA in coursework will improve an applicant's chances of being accepted into the program.
When setting salaries you want to be fair, offer enough to get good talent but you don't want to over-pay either. To determine a fair salary you will have to do a little research to see what the going rate is for each position. Add all the other factors in, such as room for pay increases, before setting salaries.
Instructions
1. Know the market salary rate. Download a free salary guide booklet; this will give you an idea of what each position is paying. These guides will show the starting and ending salary for these positions and the percentage of increase expected in the next year or two. You will want to fall somewhere within those guidelines when setting salaries (see Resources below).
2. Check the classified ads. Look at jobs in these fields with similar tasks and responsibilities. Many times these ads will include a starting salary range.
3. Look online at Online.wsj.com and Acinet.org. These sites provide additional information based on specific criteria, such as the degree of responsibility, experience, size of company and the location (see Resources below).
4. Compare apples to apples. If your business is a non-profit organization, look at other non-profit organizations for salary comparisons. For-profit companies will pay more and possibly as much as double depending on the industry and the position.
5. Consider what you can afford to pay for each position. Compensation is not just in the form of money. You might consider including a better vacation package, stock options, bonuses, laptop or flexible hours. Rewards come in many forms.
A virtual office is normally set up like any other office space equipped with a computer, printer, and fax machine.
Virtual offices offer many advantages for businesses owners to achieve business success without having an office or full staff of their own. A business owner can save thousands of dollars a year with services such as online meetings, electronic fax, and conferencing options.
Definition
A virtual office is a fully operational and functional "work space" where an individual can complete the necessary tasks to carry out professional or personal business without the start-up costs of having a "physical" business location.
Benefits
Having a virtual office space is beneficial for small business owners or one-staffed entrepreneurs who don't require the accommodations of a full-scale office setting.
Function
Individuals who use virtual offices can choose to hire employees who work from home as well as pay a telephone answering service to handle all business calls. Many people who work out of virtual offices use laptops to better mobilize their work and make use of virtual business offices offered at places like Kinko's Fedex.
Considerations
While virtual offices can save an employer money by cutting costs affiliated with staffing and having an actual business location, they can also have drawbacks because of the lack of personalization. Many virtual office staff assist more than one business at one time, thus making the customer services for your business seem a bit watered down.
Other Factors To Consider
A virtual office may offer a space to hold your meetings with clients, which is a plus for businesses who have clients that deem personal contact as an important factor when conducting business interactions.
Not having a system of dealing with every day life's responsibilities can lead to stress and make you feel overwhelmed. Deciding tackle a large number of problems can be daunting and may lead you to do nothing. Implement a system that will help you stay productive and learn delegate your time to more important problems. This simple system is called the A B C system and is very easy to learn.
Instructions
1. Clear your schedule for at least 15 minutes. Gather your materials together, whether it be a pencil and paper or your computer with word processing software.
2. Write down everything you need to get done. This can be anything from a work or school related project to laundry or shopping. Anything you think needs to be accomplished, write it on the list.
3. Analyze the list for priority. If something is of highest priority, such as "deposit check into bank" or "plan for meeting at work," put an A next to it. A tasks are the most important. If a task is important, but doesn't take precedent over other tasks, such as "get oil changed," "do laundry," etc., put a B next to it. B tasks are necessary, but are not imminently necessary. All of the tasks that are left put a C next to them. C tasks are things such as "organize your desk" or "sew a button on a shirt" or recreational activities. C tasks are things you would like to do, but don't have to do immediately.
4. Look at your list and rewrite it with the As on top, then the Bs and finally the Cs.
5. Complete your A tasks. This will help you take care of the most important tasks first and leave the others until you have time.
6. Complete your B tasks once your A tasks are done.
7. Complete your C tasks once your B tasks are done.
8. Keep track of your progress and adjust your list to how productive you are. As you accomplish more and more, you may decide to put more items on the list.
An introductory letter to clients should explain what you have to offer and generate immediate business.
When you are promoting a new business or product, you may choose to write an introductory letter to prospective clients. The purpose of this letter is to explain what you have to offer and generate immediate business. There are some guidelines for writing the most effective letter.
Instructions
1. Introduce your business/product clearly and quickly. Catchy opening lines are fine, but your reader should know who you are and what you are selling within the first few lines.
2. Set yourself apart from the competition. In addition to knowing who you are and what you are offering, readers also want to know why you are better than your competitors. Provide reasons the reader should give you his business. The more concrete facts you can provide, the better.
3. Keep it short and sweet. An introductory letter should not be more than a page--if you need to, you can enclose additional documents. You also should provide a one-line "P.S." that underscores your message for the skimmers who won't read the letter.
4. Enclose an order form. If you are selling a product or service, enclose an order form in your letter. At the very least, provide a way for the reader to contact you for more information.
5. Follow basic business-letter guidelines. These include using correct grammar and punctuation and putting a space between paragraphs (but not indenting).
6. Use letterhead and business envelopes to print and mail your letter.
Vietnam and the United States have traditionally had a poor trading relationship. The U.S.--Vietnam war era embargo was not lifted until 1994, during the Clinton administration. Trade increased slowly with high custom duties on both sides until a bilateral trade agreement (BTA) was reached in 2001. The BTA provided a great opportunity for Vietnam because reduced customs duties made imports to the U.S. much cheaper than before. This resulted in significant growth in imports from Vietnam to the U.S. This opportunity also helped Vietnam to achieve normal trade relations (NTR) status with the U.S. and to prepare for membership in the World Trade Organization (WTO).
Results of the BTA
Goods from Vietnam became significantly cheaper as a result of the reduction in tariffs. The average rate of duty fell from 40 percent to 3 percent on imports from Vietnam. The increase in imports resulted from the reduced tariffs because the demand increased as a result of lower prices. U.S. imports from Vietnam showing the biggest gain in the period right after the BTA were footwear, textiles and appeal products.
The current leading imports from Vietnam are cotton apparel and crude oil, while the fastest growing imports are nuts and industrial rubber.
Normal Trade Relations
President George W. Bush granted Vietnam unconditional NTR status with the U.S. at the end of 2006. A short time later in January 2007, the U.S. removed quotas on textile and apparel imports from Vietnam. This was necessary to comply with the U.S. WTO bilateral market access agreement and also to accord Vietnam consistent treatment provided to other WTO members.
World Trade Organization
Vietnam was approved for membership in the WTO in November 2006 and formally became its 150th member in January 2007. This represents a significant step in Vietnam's economic progress and reaching goals set by the government to become a middle income country by 2010.
Trade Investment Framework Agreement
In June of 2007, A U.S.--Vietnam trade and investment framework agreement was signed. The United States and Vietnam have been working on a bilateral investment treaty, which should result in increased investment by U.S. companies in Vietnam leading to greater economic influence in the region for the U.S. Also, many of the goods produced as a result of U.S. investment will most likely end up being imported to the U.S., resulting in economic gain for both countries.
Economic Recession
The 2008 global recession caused a general reduction in demand for products from overseas; this caused imports from Vietnam to plummet 45 percent in 2008. As of February 2009, the price of 23 of Vietnam's 25 export products has fallen sharply. The price declines are lead by crude oil prices. Even though this product saw an increase in demand in January 2009 of 12 percent by volume, shipments decreased by 52 percent in value. Garment shipments fell 33 percent, and footwear shipments fell 26 percent, as many orders from the U.S. and Europe were canceled in November because of an anticipated slow Christmas season. Rubber fell 43 percent and pepper fell 20 percent as orders have been reduced by large importers such as the U.S and E.U. The recession is a temporary situation; there is no reason why imports from Vietnam to the U.S. will not continue to grow in the long term as the economy recovers and demand is restored.